sidewalk patterns f/5.6, 1/125 SS, 50 ISO b&w using Silver Efex

Latest Posts Photography Forums The Shark Tank sidewalk patterns f/5.6, 1/125 SS, 50 ISO b&w using Silver Efex

This topic contains 12 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Dorothy 3 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Dorothy
    Participant

This is my first attempt trying Silver Efex Pro, using the 30 day trial to see how it goes.  i submitted the photo in color to this weekend challenge because as soon as i read what it was this came to mind. i did take it a long time ago and i still love it.  Now for b&w – it may take a while to get used to the software but i like all the choices and the fact that once i pick a style i can still adjust it.

sidewalk patterns f/5.6, 1/125 SS, 50 ISO

Tom M
    Participant

Love this photo,love the processing, your best so far…

Dorothy
      Participant

Thanks Tom M: i have to say the improvements are due in large part to the critiquing that i have received here in the ST.

Mistyisle
    Participant

You made a very good choice, IMHO, Dorothy.  The conversion brings things out very well.  My guess, High Structure, Harsh?

I would hate to be without Silver Efex, am sure some of my competition wins in B&W have been because I start out with it …… and sometimes don’t even have to fiddle with the result!

Dorothy
      Participant

So close Mistyisle!  High Structure, Smooth.  (IMHO?)  So far all i hear about Silver Efex is really good.

Maureen Photograph
    Participant

It’s very good, I like it.

I found the bottom part blurry and not adding much to the photo, so I cropped it, as well as a tad from the sides.  Also made a few tweaks, overall the image is just a bit dark for me, so I lightened it in PS using a Levels adjustment, and applied it to the image, except around the edges.  Thus it now has perhaps very subtle vignette.

Dorothy
      Participant