Sunsets – How can I make it POP?!?

Latest Posts Photography Forums The Shark Tank Feedback Forum Sunsets – How can I make it POP?!?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Daniel Krueger
      Participant

Here is another sunset photo. I was using an ND-16 filter to capture this and did some post editing in Lightroom. I’m new to sunsets and this one is rather flat. I know there isn’t much to see in the foreground, but it just looks lifeless. Advice on how to improve this in Lightroom? (I do have Photoshop CS3 too, I’m just not very adept at using it)

Nikon D70, ISO 200, f/16, 1/40

Frank
      Participant

There are numerous options dealing with color in Lightroom which is mostly the same as ACR which I use. Experiment with Profiles.  Here I chose one under Artistic profiles.  (*The first row choice on the left) It brought in a magenta line along the horizon.  One nice feature of using Profiles instead of presets is that once you choose a profile, you can return to the basic settings window and play even further with the effects of the Profile.  With presets you are pretty much committed to the result, but with profiles you are given only the first step.  You do not have to go further, but you can.   When you choose a profile, you can also play with the amount of the effect you want to use, by changing the percent number before you hit the choose or back button.  For example, maybe you want less magenta along the horizon.