The Archer (critique)

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author
      Fred Furze
      Participant

The Archer

I would love to hear comments on the compositional aspects of this photo. To me it works, but I would love to hear objective points of view as well, and if you feel it doesn’t, why.

ISO 200
      85mm lens
      f/3.2
      1/250 sec.

I took this photo a few weeks ago at a medieval festival nearby. Lots of interesting characters to photograph at these events, and everyone is usually very willing to get their photos taken, so it makes it so much easier.

Thanks in advance

P Marione
      Blocked

Nice pic.
      IMO nothing to change.

x
      Participant

I’m no pro, but I like it, too!

caimi
      Participant

Why is there an arrow in the model’s mouth? What is it that “works” for you? The b&w processing is very pleasing and the model is composed nicely but the content leaves me scratching my head.

Fred Furze
      Participant

Thanks to all. @caimi this is what I was unsure about. When I took the photo the concept was clear. She was shooting arrows at a target, and putting the next to be shot arrow in her mouth. When she saw me taking a picture she posed. I purposely placed myself so that her head was in front of the black area in the background, so her wild hairs would be contrasted against it, but without the context, that was clear to me at the time (and somehow still in my mind is clear to me), the arrow in the mouth may make absolutely no sense at all. When I look at this photo I almost see the rest of her holding the bow with an arrow in it just below, but to anyone else it may just look like a girl with a “for whatever reason” arrow in her mouth.

Unfortunately, (or fortunately!) I only had the 85mm lens, so I could not zoom out to get more of her body. I love the image, but the arrow may be one of those things that makes it make absolutely no sense at all without a little more context.

Thanks for commenting.

x
      Participant