Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Jim Collins
      Participant
        • Allows Edits: Yes
        @jimcol51

No Achievements Yet!

Allows Edits? Yes

Hello everyone. Since I have already made a few posts, I suppose I should get off my derrierre (metaphorically speaking) and introduce myself. I hope this is not too long. Like many people, I tend to procrastinate getting started, but once moving, especially writing, I have no problem letting the words flow.

I live near the center the California Central Valley, not far from Modesto (if you need a map reference). Have lived here for approaching 30 years now. Though I live in a typical suburb, I am surrounded by farms and I really love it. Less traffic for one thing. There are certainly problems, however, not the least being that, like everyone else who lives here for very long, allergies have struck. For someone who has never had an allergy to anything, it’s pretty frustrating – but not enough to move. 🙂

I have been a technician for most of my life: in the Navy for 25 years and then working at a local food processing plant after I retired. About ten years ago I shifted to technical writing. Still do this, writing and editing and a little web design, though now self-employed. So, even though the science was disproved a long time ago, the symbolism is still effective when I say I’m strongly left-brained and need to work on strengthening the right side.

I have been interested in photography since a young age, but never went much beyond the snapshot stage until maybe 15 years ago when I shifted to digital. But even then, working serious photography into a very busy life has always been difficult.