Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      didachus67
      Participant
        • Allows Edits: Yes
        @didachus67

No Achievements Yet!

Allows Edits? Yes

Hi all, I am didachus67, and I am new to the Shark tank.

My passion for photography began when I was just a boy, but my parents were keen to take their precious Kodak Instamatic away from my hands (dunno why…). When the official camera of the family was allowed to follow my wanderings, it was a bit of a disappointment. I tried to take what I thought of as good shots, but almost always my ideas were well beyond the technical capabilities of that toy camera.
        So this is how it all began for me. There is no single photograph that got me hooked on photography, just as my wife and I do not have “our song”.

When I was 16, in 1983 (gosh! in 1983!), I got in my hands a Fujica STX-1N – an entirely mechanical and manual reflex (batteries lasted for many years, since they just powered the light meter!). In the meantime my equipment was slowly growing: a Tamron 28 mm, a 200 mm Fujinon (which survived a 7 meters fall on Val Masino granite!), additional lenses, a polarizer filter, a flash, a tripod…
        My good old STX-1N (may rest in peace) was my committed fellow for almost 30 years. Very low temperature, sun, rain, mist, accidental falls… Nothing could really beat her. Only time itself, indeed.
        I have got a Nikon D5100 one year ago – arguably not the last model, but I have chosen it mainly because of its resolution, considerably smaller than that of the D5200. I wanted a decently sized sensor, so why have “smaller pixel” due to a greater resolution?

I love Nikon cameras and lenses, they remember me of my uncle Richard (died in 2013), a professional photographer for the Corriere della Sera, the main Italian newspaper, who was a passionate Nikonian. So you know that I am a romantic, now.