Dandelion

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Renee P
      Participant

I would love feedback on this photo. This is my first attempt at this and I spent the afternoon playing with it!! what could I do to make it look better?  Should I be able to get in closer using a macro lens? should i be able to get the entire “flower” in focus?  I’m getting just the center. I used a 90mm f2/8 macro lens with a Nikon d7000 in Aperture priority.  SS 1/60, f/14, ISO 500, with a flash and diffuser.  I tried different ISO’s, different apertures.  I think it looks better when zoomed in…..

First Dandelion

Tobie

I think your depth of field was way to short to do your subject justice. It would be nice to see all (or most) of the seeds in focus. f/14 was a great attempt but I reckon you were probably way too close to stretch the DOF.

A 1:1 crop with a bit of space at the top would probably be more appealing to the eye.

Dahlia Ambrose
      Keymaster

Hi Renee, this is a beautiful picture of the dandelion, especially with the dew drops on it.

I agree with Tobie about the depth of field. At f/14, you may have to move a bit further away to get the entire flower in focus and then you can later crop to fill the frame. Also would be nice to have some space on top 🙂

Renee P
      Participant

Does this look better?  SS 1/80, f/14, iso 500.  used a nikon d7000 and Tamron 90mm F2.8 Macro

Dandelion Take 2

Frank
      Participant